My Connections to Play

Standard

Quotes that represent play in my childhood:

Children learn as they play. Most importantly, in play children learn how to learn.                                                                                                                     -O. Fred Donaldson- Contemporary American martial arts master

When we treat children’s play as seriously as it deserves, we are helping them feel the joy that’s to be found in the creative spirit. It’s the things we play with and the people who help us play that make a great difference in our lives.
-Fred Rogers

Important items of play from my childhood:

Our family had two huge mulberry trees in our yard. We would often go outside pick them and eat them as well as put them in our famous mud pies that we would sell to other kids in the neighborhood.


Our family had two huge mulberry trees in our yard. We would often go outside pick them and eat them as well as put them in our famous mud pies that we would sell to other kids in the neighborhood.

This was our daily game. My sisters and I along with other girls in the neighborhood would play double dutch almost everyday.

Our mother and grandmother supported our play by encouraging us (sometimes very sternly) to play outside. We were not allowed to just sit in the house all day. They believed that children should be active and should spend most of their time outside playing. They bought us toys and allowed us to use their old cooking utensils (pans, spoons, lids, etc.) to cook outside. Our neighborhood was full of kids and throughout the year (even during the cold winter months) you would see us outside.

Because of  my childhood play experiences and my professional insight about play, my husband and I support our children to play both inside and outside. You will see my children building forts out of pillows, trying to build a tent with sheets, being a super hero, building things with old cardboard boxes, etc. They enjoy outside and have spent much of the winter outside playing in the snow attempting to build them an igloo. For my family their play experiences are very similar to mine.

My attitude of “let’s try it and see if it works” is credited to my play experiences. We would always try to do some sort of trick with double dutch and if it didn’t work out we would try something else. I bring that same attitude into my work and know that I can always start over.

 

 

 

 

One response »

  1. Trisha,

    I remember making mud pies, with my cousins and playing all summer long. It was the simplest things that we found the most enjoyment with throughout my childhood also.

Leave a Reply

