Cultural Communication

Standard

From the learning this week, three strategies that will help me to communicate with the groups I identify with are:

Looking at a family’s behavior from their point of view (Gonzalez-Mena, J. (2010). 50 strategies for communicating and working with diverse families. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Education, Inc)- What a family does may not line up with my beliefs or what I know about children through research and best practices so when I look at the behavior from the view of the family, I will get a better understanding of the “why”.

Try to withhold judgement until I get a deeper understanding (Gonzalez-Mena, J. (2010). 50 strategies for communicating and working with diverse families. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Education, Inc)- When I observe the behavior of a family such as having a child not speak until spoken to, I  first have to understand  their thinking instead of judging them for such strict restrictions on their children.

Become aware of the nonverbal behaviors and know that one size does not fit all (Gonzalez-Mena, J. (2010). 50 strategies for communicating and working with diverse families. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Education, Inc)-understanding what certain nonverbal gestures mean does not always mean the same for an individual or group. It is very important to understand those gestures not only generally but individually.

Notice my own patterns of nonverbal communication (Gonzalez-Mena, J. (2010). 50 strategies for communicating and working with diverse families. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson Education, Inc)- I also have to be conscious of the types of nonverbal communication I display as well. Those who know me understand that what it means when I raise my eyebrows or relax my face to look serious while others who are not familiar may not understand and may take offense or get confused.

Leave a Reply

