Perspectives on Diversity and Culture

Standard

For the assignment this week two relatives and one of my co-workers (not of the same race as I) shared their insights of culture and diversity.

– Tracy: Culture is the world in which we ourselves live in. It could be your family or friends or just the group you have chosen to associate yourself with. Diversity to me is simply being different.

-Duwayne: Culture is our heritage. Although we are African-American, the way I see it, we don’t know Africa but we know Black America so it is who we are as Blacks in America which could be different from state to state and city to city. Diversity is embracing others.

– Hursel: Culture is our traditions and values that we share with our family. Diversity is understanding that everyone is not the same.

I think overall, the definitions touched on the deep aspects of culture (Derman-Sparks & Olsen-Edwards, 2010).  They also spoke to being part of a group in which they operate (Derman-Sparks & Olsen-Edwards, 2010).

Aspects that were omitted may have been have other cultures view them and how they connect or not to the dominant culture.

Thinking about others definitions and our readings so far has helped me to broaden my own definition and view about culture and diversity. My definition was boxed and really included traditions and values of my own family. It has now expanded to include groups other than my blood relatives.

 

Leave a Reply

