Personal Research Journey

Standard

Research is simply finding out about things (Naughton & Rolfe, 2010). The topic I have chosen to find out more about is Urban preschool children, how ready are they when they leave preschool? I work in a very poor district and I am also a product of the same district. We have always had our share of financial and academic challenges. What I am seeing is that we have 42% of our kindergarten students have attended some form of preschool. When assessed in kindergarten using Fountas and Pinnell assessment of reading levels, 98% of our students were at level “aa”. They knew some letters and sounds and no sight words. Socially, they are challenged to be kind and respectful. They continue to lag in fine motor skills, so now I am asking the question, is preschool really helping the urban learner?

In order to keep the research informative, ethical, meaningful, persuasive and significant one must follow certain steps (Naughton & Rolfe, 2010). We are currently formulating a specific question or issue. The problem I am having is each time I talk about the issue a different kind of question arises. The original question has changed several times. It seems as if I am refining the question the more I talk about the topic.

I have not found any articles that I want to use as of yet. In searching, there are lots of articles similar to this written by other students that surface as I am searching.

I have not finished the assignments for this week and so I can’t comment on my insights as of yet on using the research chart.

If anyone has any suggestions on refining my question or resources please feel free to share.

One response »

  1. I really enjoyed reading your post. Urban preschool children is a great topic, especially because it is so meaningful to you and the people around you. I definitely think that the best topics are those that have the most meaning to our individual lives. It is also very disappointing that our country still struggles with providing quality early childhood programs to all neighborhoods and communities. It will really be interesting to see some of the information that you find out about this issue and see if there is anything being done that will be able to reverse this trend.

Leave a Reply

